Petri Applauds Disaster Declaration

Jul 25, 2012 Issues: Agriculture

Congressman Tom Petri said that he is pleased with today's federal disaster declaration for the counties of Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Lafayette, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha.  Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Calumet, Juneau, Portage, Sheboygan, Vernon, Waushara, Winnebago and Wood.

"The drought conditions are just terrible for Wisconsin's farmers, and they need help," he said.  "This is officially an 'extreme drought' affecting several crops including corn, alfalfa, and soybeans."

Governor Scott Walker requested the declaration on July 19.  The following day, Petri joined other members of Wisconsin's congressional delegation in sending a letter in support of the Governor's request.

Producers in both primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance.  FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers and ranchers with additional information.  Wisconsin farmers can contact:

The Wisconsin State FSA Office

8030 Excelsior Drive, Suite 100

Madison, WI 53717-2906

Phone 608-662-4422

Fax 608-662-9425

Hours: 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday

 Visit the Farm Service Agency's website here.